History was made in the world of dogs at Arcadia, Louisiana, on April 28 and 29. 

This was the location and date at the first licensed Hunting Retriever Club, Inc. hunt licensed by United Kennel Club, which awarded Championship points. The success of this event can only be credited to a tremendous joint effort by members of the Ruston Club, the Judges and over 100 participants.

The hunt was held on the Quarter Horse farm at J. D. Blondie. The several hundred acre farm provided a variation of terrain for the land retrievers and two different ponds were used for the water work.

The weather was overcast and threatening both days but held off raining until the last "Finished" dog was run.

Folks traveled from as far away as Odessa, Texas and Kansas to enter the hunt. One of the handlers from Texas said he had to drive nearly two hours to find any water to work his young Lab. The couple from Kansas drive nearly 800 miles, one way! This type of enthusiasm gives you an idea of the excitement H.R.C. hunts are generating.

The 113 dog entry reflected the commitment generated by this long awaited competition for the duck hunter and his/her retriever. I love to say "her" because some of the best dog handling work was done by the women handlers.

Of the 113 dogs entry, 80 dogs earned points towards their Hunting Retriever Championship. The officials for this event were: Hunt Marshall, Omar Driskill;  Game Steward, Ronnie Greer;  Official Guns, Marvin Williamson and Johnny Hodson. Judges and hunts to be judged were: Chris Kilgore, Ruston, Louisiana, Started; Robert Temple, Ruston, Louisiana, Started; Ron Mack, Ruston, Louisiana, Started; Bob Rathe, Covington, Louisiana, Seasoned; Frank Stewart, Hodge, Louisiana, Seasoned; Wayne Johnson, West Lake, Louisiana, Finished; Bill Tarrant, Phoenix, Arizona, Finished. The breakdown of the winners in each category is as follows:

AA Hunt (160 maximum entry)

42 Started Winners --
5 Championship Points Earned

Eric Hall, Jonesboro, LA

Hiwood Pacer Punt Power
Lynn Ogden, Natchez, MS

Hawk LeBlanc
Frank Steward, Jr., Hodge, LA

Stew Baby's Bear of Darbonne
Steward Scott, Jr., Downsville, LA

Lonnie's Tiny Priscilla
Lonnie Styron, Lake Providence, LA

Duckpond Swampland Jake
Wayne Parker, Bossier City, LA

Mark's Roost Raider
Mark Eason, Ruston, LA

Green's Chocolate Kelly
William Green, Dubock, LA

Cocoa Kraft
Keith Kraft, Kenner, LA

Coco's Brown Buster
R. A. Gray, III, Ruston, LA

Tar's Trooper of Cashbay
John Hudson, III, Ruston, LA

Silverwing Dixie Delight
Herman McClong, Ruston, LA

Honcho's Apache Chief
Earl Parrish, Thomasville, AL

Smokey Cajan Bandit
Jesse Lanclos, Breaux Bridge, LA

Pontchahoo's Bonnie Boa
Sandy Mathis, Husser, LA

Richard Becker, Lafayette, LA

Trieven Flower Power
Glenn Carimi and Ron Mathis, Metairie, LA

Beaux Rouge
W. T. Stephens, Monroe, LA

Cadillac Natchez Magic
Arthur E. Person, Natchez, MS

Choctaws Caddy
Ray Byers, Fresno, CA

Courageous Nick
Ronnie Greer, El Dorado, AR

Ken Hughes, Coushatta, LA

Gandy's Treiven Drake
Butch Gandy, Farmersville, LA

Gary Golden, Jonesboro, LA

Loga's Hank Express
Melvin Loga, Sr., Venice, LA

Attaboy Blue McCall
Steven McCall, Husser, LA

Pike's Penny Acre Kim
Ron Mathis, Husser, LA

Trieven Kisatchie Windigo
Kermit Simmons, Winnfield, LA

Winnie Poo Two
Bob Ramsey, El Dorado, AR



Barre Tangus, Monroe, LA

Tangus Bayou Joushua
Barre Tangus, Monroe, LA

Duke of Pacer
Jim Vanderhooven, Alexandria, LA

20 Seasoned Winners --
10 Championship Points Earned

McCormick's Mr. Max
Charles McCormick, Bossier City, LA

Tom's Bayoo Barney
Tom Hudnall, Ruston, LA

Quachita Babe
Don Kifer, Haughton, LA

Little Miss Maxie
Kendell Coppin, Webbers Falls, OK

Big River Warhawk
Betty Meadows, Lake Providence, LA

Burns' Son of Osiris
Malcolm Burns, Alexandria, LA

Irondales Foxy Lady
Benny Prince, Homer, LA

Colo's Black Bayou
Walter Cobb, Tallulah, LA

Dixie Dreamer
Clifton Sandlin, Ruston, LA

Topbrass Chief Obadiaoh
Ron and Sandy Mathis, Husser, LA

Bitsey Riter
Vernon Riter, Keokuk, IA

Anbar Maggie of Autumn Morns
David Gleason, Spring, TX

Gambits Zeke
J. D. Blandin, Arcadia, LA

Sunnyburkes K.R.J. Sackett
Ken Johnson, Denham Springs, LA

Jake of Argonaunt County
Gene Gesfer, Longview, TX

William David Miller, St. Joseph, LA

Ronnie Greer, El Dorado, AR

Grady Paka Great Expectations
Jim Adams, Nacogdoches, TX

Manfreds Mandrake
Steven Owens

Marc's Bud Man
Marc Amrick, Longview, TX

18 Finished Winners --
20 Championship Points Earned

Ebony Chip O'Flint
J. Mark Morgan, Shreveport, LA

Bayouland Marsh Tramp
Ron Mathis, Husser, LA

Brannon's Baby Bo
H. C. Brannon, Metairie, LA

East Texas Yellow Fever
Morris Long, Natchitoches, LA

Boogie Woogie Boogalie
Leonard Heatherly, Gretna, LA

Irondale's Duke
B. R. Audirsch, Winnfield, LA

Jellum's Running Bear
Edwin Jellum, Ringgold, LA

Bosco's Chocolate Kiss
Glen Carimi, Metairie, LA

Gohanks LaRoux
Bobby Bentz, Jr., Calhoun, LA

Omar's Midnight Jacob
Chris Kilgore, Ruston, LA

Zipper Do It Myway
Ann and John Oswall, Garden City, KS

O Biles Fleetwood Mack
L. V. Chip Rainwater, Ruston, LA

Sungold's Boune Justice
Carlos Lazarus and Susan Frazier, Tebodeaux, LA

Creole's Char Cole
Omar Driskill and F. Stewart, Simsboro, LA

Rod Johnson, Husser, LA

Copy's Impatient Lady
Ron Mathis, Husser, LA

Attaboy Maud M's Playboy
Mike McHale, Ruston, LA

The Hunting Retriever Hunt Committee consisted of Chip Rainwater as chairman, along with Mike McHale, Tom Hudnall, Mark Eason, Cliff Sandlin, Steve Terrill, Mickey Simmons, Dan Kiefter, Lewis Cobb and Steve Owens. Coverage was done by Waterfowler's World.



«  Previous Page  |  Next Page »
You are currently on Page
  1    2   3   4   5   6


Hunting Retriever Club, Inc. Newsletter Vol. 1 #1 reprint and reproduction from August-September, 1984
with permission of Hunting Retriever Club, Inc. and Hunting Retriever Magazine.
Layout and design of newsletter has been reorganized to accommodate technological advancement.
All content is authentic as to articles and offerings. Illustrations, photographs and contact particulars of
individuals mentioned therein not offered in this electronic reproduction.

A Webbed Pause SiteŠ design and creation, 2006.